This Is The Spirit And Fluid Secretion Of
Wine. If This Is Drunk, The Essence Will Penetrate Into A Man's
Armpits, And He Will Die.
Wine kept for two or three years develops great
poison." For a detailed history of grape-wine in China, see Laufer's
XXXVII., p. 16.
Chavannes (Chancellerie chinoise de l'epoque mongole, II., pp. 66-68,
1908) has a long note on vine and grape wine-making in China, from Chinese
sources. We know that vine, according to Sze-ma Ts'ien, was imported from
Farghanah about 100 B.C. The Chinese, from texts in the T'ai p'ing yu
lan and the Yuan Kien lei han, learned the art of wine-making after
they had defeated the King of Kao ch'ang (Turfan) in 640 A.D.
XLI., p. 27 seq.
CHRISTIAN MONUMENT AT SI-NGAN FU.
The slab King kiao pei, bearing the inscription, was found, according to
Father Havret, 2nd Pt., p. 71, in the sub-prefecture of Chau Chi, a
dependency of Si-ngan fu, among ancient ruins. Prof. Pelliot says that the
slab was not found at Chau Chi, but in the western suburb of Si-ngan, at
the very spot where it was to be seen some years ago, before it was
transferred to the Pei lin, in fact at the place where it was erected in
the seventh century inside the monastery built by Olopun. (Chretiens de
l'Asie centrale, T'oung pao, 1914, p. 625.)
In 1907, a Danish gentleman, Mr. Frits V. Holm, took a photograph of the
tablet as it stood outside the west gate of Si-ngan, south of the road to
Kan Su; it was one of five slabs on the same spot; it was removed without
the stone pedestal (a tortoise) into the city on the 2nd October 1907, and
it is now kept in the museum known as the Pei lin (Forest of Tablets).
Holm says it is ten feet high, the weight being two tons; he tried to
purchase the original, and failing this he had an exact replica made by
Chinese workmen; this replica was deposited in the Metropolitan Museum of
Art in the City of New York, as a loan, on the 16th of June, 1908. Since,
this replica was purchased by Mrs. George Leary, of 1053, Fifth Avenue,
New York, and presented by this lady, through Frits Holm, to the Vatican.
See the November number (1916) of the Boll, della R. Soc. Geog.
Italiana. "The Original Nestorian Tablet of A.D. 781, as well as my
replica, made in 1907," Holm writes, "are both carved from the stone
quarries of Fu Ping Hien; the material is a black, sub-granular limestone
with small oolithes scattered through it" (Frits V. Holm, The Nestorian
Monument, Chicago, 1900). In this pamphlet there is a photograph of the
tablet as it stands in the Pei lin.
Prof. Ed. Chavannes, who also visited Si-ngan in 1907, saw the Nestorian
Monument; in the album of his Mission archeologique dans la Chine
Septentrionale, Paris, 1909, he has given (Plate 445) photographs of the
five tablets, the tablet itself, the western gate of the western suburb of
Si-ngan, and the entrance of the temple Kin Sheng Sze.
Enter page number
Page 647 of 701
Words from 341675 to 342215